Hall of Fame

All nominations for Hall of Fame 2017-2018 have been received and the committee is hard at work making their selections.

Inductees will be named at the January meeting of the Board of Directors. Watch this space!

Hall of Fame Inductees for 2017

Carmelle Bellefleur, BSN 2002, MSN 2004

Retired professor of nursing at Hunter College, treasurer of Promoting Health in Haiti, Inc. Active member of the Nursing Chapter. After the 2010 earthquake, Dr. Bellefleur led a group of Hunter faculty to Haiti. From that came an organization that focuses on nursing education in Haiti and educates future Family Nurse Practitioners.


Phil Klay, MFA 2011

US Marine Corps, ret., served in Iraq’s Anbar Province from 2007 to 2008 as a Public Affairs Officer. His writing has appeared in Granta, The New York Times, Newsweek, The Daily Beast, New York Daily News, Tin House, and The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2012. Klay is a 2014 National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 HonoreeHis first book, Redeployment, a collection of stories centering on the reentry of veterans into civilian life, won the National Book Award in 2014 and a number of awards thereafter. He works on behalf of veterans as author and activist.


Mitchell Silver, MUP 1993

Commissioner of the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation since May 2014, responsible for all 1700 of our city’s parks, beaches and public spaces. Commissioner Silver is also the immediate past president of the American Planning Association (APA). He is an award-winning planner with almost 30 years of experience and he is internationally recognized for his leadership in the planning profession and his contributions to contemporary planning issues.


Sylvia Weinstock, BA 1951

Sylvia Weinstock, cake designer. She has been called New York’s reigning cake diva, the Leonardo Da Vinci of Cakes, and simply, the Queen of Cakes. Her artistry and imagination have earned her a celebrity clientele and international fame. Her international licensing corporation has brought her professional excellence to a worldwide market.


Sandra Wilkin, BSN 1979

Founder and President of Bradford Companies, one of the few women-owned construction companies in New York City. Ms. Wilkin has built Bradford Construction Corporation into one of the leading women-owned construction firms – earning her the title of “a hard hat with style” from Crain’s New York Business. She was appointed last year to the CUNY Board of Trustees.


Elizabeth Wilson-Anstey, BA 1992

Dr. Anstey was named Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, a newly created position at the Cornell-Weill Medical College, in 2003. In addition to her work at Cornell, Liz is founder of Empowerment and Equity Through Education, Inc., a charitable foundation that began with education-oriented projects in her native Guyana but has since expanded to antipoverty work in Nigeria, Ghana and Haiti in addition to Guyana and Brooklyn. Liz has served as a Board member and Vice President of the Alumni Association of Hunter College.

Delia Friedman, Chair
Doris Bruntel
Leslie Lieth
Brooke Gadasi
Josie Levine
Ahmed Tigani
Patricia S. Rudden
James Amodeo, ex officio

Our Hall of Fame:

In 1972 in honor of the 100th Anniversary of the Alumni Association of Hunter College, the Board of Directors decided to honor 100 graduates of the College for service to the Association or professional achievement.

It also decided to grant two major awards, one for Distinguished Service to the Association and the College and the other for Outstanding Professional Achievement.   The Association then decided to continue granting awards each year, including a third award for Outstanding Community Service.


1-Who is eligible?

Any individual who holds a degree from Hunter College or is a CUNY BA graduate whose home campus was Hunter.

2-How are they selected?

The Association’s president appoints a Hall of Fame Committee that reviews and evaluates nominees and presents them to the Board of Directors for approval.

3-How are candidates nominated?

A nomination form is completed, documentation and letters of recommendation are attached and submitted to the Association by November 1 prior to the award year.

Download the nomination form here as a docx: HFNomgeneric

or here as a pdf to print: HFNomgeneric

4-Who may nominate?

Anyone who knows of the individual’s accomplishments, including the candidate, may submit the form.  Candidates may be informed of their nomination.

5-Where should nominations be sent?

The completed nomination form with letters of recommendation and supporting documentation should be submitted no later than November 1 prior to the award year to the Alumni Association Hall of Fame Committee, Box 1123 Lenox Hill Station, New York, NY 10021. Telephone: 212-396-6537 Email: alumniofhunter@gmail.com.

7-What about candidates who are not selected?

Candidates not initially selected are reconsidered by the Hall of Fame Committee for two succeeding years.

8- How are awardees informed?

The Association notifies them of their selection and the process of induction into the Hall of Fame and the date of the ceremony. It may request them to submit any information needed to substantiate their award.

9-When and where is the induction ceremony held?

The ceremony, hosted by the President of the College and conducted by the Chair of the Hall of Fame Committee and President of the Association, takes place the Friday evening before the Birthday Luncheon.  The awardees and guests attend the ceremony in the Lobby of the West Building where they are given a certificate and attend an unveiling of the wall plaques